Training; 27th March to 2nd April


Tuesday,    Jean's Group,   7pm Front Gates Shanganagh.

Thursday,  Fit4life Group,   7pm Front Gates Shanganagh.

Sunday,    Andrea's Group, 9am Front Gates Shanganagh.

N.B.    Change of venue for Thursday Group.


This Tuesday is our last week at Woodbrook College 6:50 - 8:00pm. After that, we will switch to Shanganagh park for the summer months.
By popular demand, Friday training will take place from 6:30pm - 7:30pm at the People's park in Bray. This is open to all our juvenile members ages 10+.

Eirgrid Dunboyne 4ml

Great runs from a couple of our athletes at the Eirgrid Dunboyne 4ml., on Sunday 26th March.  Elaine Casey ran a fine 33.16, a Pb. Colm O'Heigeartaigh, as he continues his return from injury, was very happy with his 22.51. Well done to both. The race was won by Mick Clohisey, Raheny Shamrocks, in 18.46 with Ciara Durkin, Skerries AC, first woman home in 22.06. Full results at;

MSB 5K and Mullingar Half Marathon

The Mullingar Half Marathon and the MSB 5k were two big events held over the weekend. In Mullingar, Gary Condon, fresh from his Ballycotton 10ml Pb on Sunday last, recorded a fine 76.38 to finish in 12th O/A and 4th in 0/40 Cat. The race was won by Peter Mooney in 73.31 with Siobhan O'Doherty first woman home in 78.48. Full results can be found at

The MSB 5k took place on Sunday 19th March and over 1,200 athletes took part. Colm O'Heigeartaigh, running his first race since returning from injury, recorded a fine 18.00. Suzanne Foot ran 19.21 and was 2nd in age category and Ashling Smith ran 20.04 and was 3rd in Age category. Both Suzanne and Ashling were part of the Sli Cualann womens team who finished in 2nd place, just edged out by an excellent Raheny Shamrocks team. Emma O'Brien, 18.10, and Nicole Devitt 20.16, were the other members of the Sli Cualann team. John Coghlan, 15.12, was first home and Barbara Cleary,17.04, was first woman home. Full results at;  

Bohermeen Half Marathon/Ballycotton 10ml

In the Bohermeen Half Marathon, where some of our athletes were running as a warm up for the Rotherdam Marathon, Joe Kelly ran 84.04, Dominic Horan 84.09, Gordon McWilliams 86.08, Suzanne Foot 90.06 and 1st in age cat. Suzanne also led the Sli Cualann team to 1st place in the team event. Bobby Mitchell (doing a bit of pacing) ran 97.10, Georgina Devlin 97.06, Ciara Carter 99.39, Cathy Mitchell 1.43.15, Siobhan Butler 1.44.07 and Mark Duncan ran a Pb of 1.57.03. 

Some great running at Ballycotton 10ml on Sunday 12 March. Gary Condon finished in 15th place, running a superb 53.36 a new Pb. Stephen O'Kennedy also recorded an excellent Pb of 59.19. Paul Allen, 65.18, was another to record a Pb, as was Jean O'Kennedy, 75.13. Jean also finished 2nd in her age cat., a great achievement in Ballycotton. Jason O'Connor 74.48 and Emer Hynes 87.42 were both very happy with their times. Peter Doran, 89.13 and Paul Gannon 89.20 both ran Pbs taking 3mins and 6mins respectively off their previous best. Richard Kavanagh ran 70.45. Results and photos can be found at

Training Times 13th to 20th March


Training this week is as normal on Tuesday at Woodbrook College 6:50pm - 8pm until the end of the month. €1.
Friday training goes ahead on St. Patrick's day, but this will take place in the People's park in Bray from 5:30-6:30pm (while it's bright), and NOT at the track in Greystones.
Wicklow Track and Field Championships 
The date for the Wicklow Track and Field Championships has been set (13 and 14 May) This is open to all our juvenile members and it would be great to see a big turnout from Bray Runners across all the events, including sprints, middle distance, hurdles, long jump, high, jump, javelin, shot putt etc.! We will train at the track on Saturday afternoons / evenings from April onwards so our athletes have a chance to practice the events they are most interested in, so keep an eye out for updates on that!

13-MaySaturdayWicklow Track and Field Championships Day 1; Greystones
14-MaySundayWicklow Track and Field Championships Day 2; Greystones
Tuesday;    7pm Shankill  Church Car Park,   Jean's Group.
Thursday;   7pm Shankill  Church Car Park.   Richard K/Jason
Sunday;     9am  Shanganagh                      Andrea's Group.

Another Pb for Ashling at Nat Masters Indoors.

On Sunday last, 5th March, Ashling Smith ran an excellent new 1500mtr indoor Pb of 5.06 at the National Masters Indoor C/Ships in Athlone. Ashling finished in 4th place in her age category in a top quality field.   

Additional information