Longford Marathon and Half Marathon

Results from the Longford Half and Full Marathon yesterday:
Half Marathon was  won by Phillip Harty of West Waterford in 01:08:59
Ladies race was won by Michelle McGee in 01:25:02.
Full Marathon won by Freddie Situk, in 2:22:24 smashing the course record in the prcess. 
The Ladies title was retained by Pauline Curley in 02:44:22, another course record
Great run by Gary Condon, finishing in 01:17:30, 5th overall and 2nd O40, also
Bill Stanley 01:29:20, 17th overall and 1st. O45. Andrea Murphy ran  01:57:52 8th O40.
In the full marathon, Joe Kelly finished in a great time of 3:08:53, continuing his solid prep for the Dublin marathon.
Well done to all who competed, full results on www.longfordmarathon.com  

Frank Duffy 10ml, New Pb for Des.

At yesterdays Frank Duffy 10ml, in the Phoenix Park, Des O'Hare set a new Pb in running 69.59, over 4minutes off his previous best, which he set in Ballycotton earlier this year. Chris Morgan, running his first 10ml race, ran a very impressive 62.14. Susan Dowd, continuing her preparations for Dublin Marathon, ran a fine time of 1hr 26 25.  Liam Casey, fresh from the 5k club c/ship on Thursday night ran 83.15.  The race was won by Matt Gunby, 49.28, with Maria McCambridge taking the womens race in 56.27. Full results on www.dublinmarathon.ie

National League Finals, Tullamore, 18th Aug

The National League Finals were held in Tullamore on 18th August. Chris Morgan ran in the 5000m and came 6th in Division One in  a fine timer of 17:48.63. This was the first time Chris raced on the track. Richard Owens came home first in the 800mtrs in a very impressive 1.55.12.  
There was a number of athletes from other sections of Sli Cualann who put in some great performances. Results here  http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/league.pdf

5K Club C/ships, Results

 We had a good turnout for our 5k Club C/ships on Thursday 22nd August. Despite a number of athletes being unable to take part due to injuries, work etc, we still finished up with over 30 athletes, senior and juveniles, taking part. First man home was Dominic Horan in a fine time of 17.44. Joe Kelly was runner up and 1st over 40 in a time of 18.25. In the womens race, Noelle Thorpe took the honours in 21.11, with Charlotte Stevens runner up and 1st O/50, in 22.55. Great to see Noelle back to form after a series of injuries earlier in the year. Other category winners were, Men Senior, Dave Carrager; O/35 Liam Casey; O/50 Tony Brannigan; O/55, Tom Cavanagh. Womens Category winners; Senior, Jennifer O'Connor; O/35, Colette Mason; O/45, Jackie O'Neill; O/55 Mary Hourihan. We also had at least one Pb, with Dolores Gilliland running a very impressive 24.06.


In the Juvenile event, run over 3k, we also had some excellent performances. In the boys section, Jordan Mynes, was very impressive and first home in 12.21. He was closely followed by the equally impressive Cian Galligan, Jack Parker, Patrick Emns, David Carrager Jnr, Roan Kierans, and Ben Parker. Eoin Kelly, Joe Phelan and Seamus Kierans also performed heroically. In the girls race, we had a very close finish, with Sadbh O'Loan, 12.30 just finishing ahead of Shauna Galligan, 12.34, with Eimear Martin a close third.

Well done to all who took part, and a big thank you to all those who came along to help out and support the athletes. It is our intention to make this event bigger and better next year. If anyone has any photographs from the race we would love to put them on the website, you could send them to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..  Full results below.   



                         MEN.                                                                        WOMEN.

1st,    Dominic Horan,   17.44;                                        1st,    Noelle Thorpe,         21.11. 

2nd,   Joe Kelly,           18.25;                                        2nd,   Charlotte Stevens,    22.55,  

3rd,   Tom Cavanagh,   21.04;                                        3rd,    Dolores Gilliland, PB, 24.06.  

4th,    Liam Casey,       22.38;                                         4th,   Colette Mason,          24.09. 

5th,    Paul Humpries,   22.43;                                         5th,   Shiela Ryan,             28.18.    

6th,    Marc Vesey,       23.16;                                         6th,  Jennifer O'Connor      24.14,  

7th,   David Carraher,   23.18                                          7th,  Jackie O'Neill,            30.27, 

8th,   Tony Brannigan,  24.11;                                         8th,  Ana Molina,               32.16.

9th,   Jason O'Connor,  24.14;                                         9th,  Lorraine O'Rourke,     34.09

10th, Michael Galligan,  24.17;                                         10th, Mary Hourihan,         34.23.




                        Boys.                                                                            Girls.


1st,     Jordan Mynes,   12.21.                                                 1st,  Sadbh O'Loan,    12.30

2nd,    Cian Galligan,    12.29.                                                 2nd, Shauna Galligan  12.34

3rd,     Jack Parker,      12.35.                                                 3rd,  Eimear Martin,    13.49.

4th.     Patrick Emns,    13.04

5th,     David Carraher Jnr,  14.22

6th,     Roan Kierans     15.27.

7th ,    Ben Parker,        15.55.    







Our Club Championship 5k  Race will take place in Shanganagh on Thursday next, 22nd August 2013. Registration will take place from 6.30pm, race will start at 7pm. Start and finish will be in 3rd field, close to railway bridge.

First male and female (seniors) will be declared Club Champion for 2013. There will be the usual age category awards. Medals for winners and for all age groups. There will also be a juvenile C/ship race.
Visitors welcome but medals restricted to club members.  

Course is as before, start near bridge, lap of three fields, 2k, then lap of railway field makes 3k, then repeating the first 2k lap of all three fields. Anticlockwise throughout, kilometres marked in white on path.
We need a number of stewards and timekeepers on the night so if not running please come along to help or support

Celbridge 5k and DULEEK 10k. Huge PB For Diana/// Fine Run From Diarmuid.

The annual Celbridge 5k was held today, 18th August. Almost 400 athletes took part and first home was David Heffernan, Donore, in a time of 15.50. First woman home was Eileen Brennan, Portlaoise AC, in 16.45. Diana Doll put in a great performance in running 23.38, which smashed her old Pb of 25.11, well done Diana. Full results on www.redtagtiming.com  

Also today we had the inaugural running of the Duleek 10k. A large field of over 400 athletes took part in what was a well organised event over a tough and demanding course. There was also a large prize fund on offer for the various winners. The mens race was won by Eoin Callaghan, Star of the Sea, in 33.49, and the ladies race was won by Fiona O'Rourke in 38.28. Diarmuid Potts, running his best 10k since August 2009, clocked 40.48 to finish in an excellent 30th place. Well done to all who took part. Full results on www.precisiontiming.net


Additional information