Here you can find latest race results

read more

Bray Runners League

This initiative is all about participation, inclusion and above all fun!

read more


New Members are always welcome!

read more

Running in Bray in 1862

A great glimpse into the past from Brian White, Bray Cualann Historical Society:


deerfoot2On researching the first caretaker and Manager of the Carlisle Grounds, Bray in 1862 John Levett an English Athletic Champion , author of a book “How to Train for Athletic Exercise” and inventor of a device to learn how to swim; On 7th September 1862 a large crowd gathered on Bray Seafront to witness a selection of running races, chief competitors were John Levett, Edward (Teddy) Mills another English Champion and  Deerfoot a native American Indian and described as the fastest man on earth.


In 1861 George Martin the coach of the English Athletic team and promoter invited Deerfoot a chief of Seneca tribe on a 20 month tour of England and Ireland. On 27th July 1861 they took the steamship “City of Washington” on a 12 day voyage to Liverpool . The final leg of the 20 month tour was a visit to Dublin and Bray. On Bray seafront on 7th September 1862 Deerfoot ran a four mile race in 20 minutes. 





Latest Juvenile News

  • 09.03.2020

    Wicklow Star Awards Last Friday night the annual Wicklow Star Awards ceremony was held Read More
  • 02.03.2020

    Race Report Congratulations to Elodie Lambert who competed on the Wicklow schools event last week.  Read More
  • 24.02.2020

    Race Report: Leinster Indoor Championships February 22 2020 - NIA - Leinster Indoor Junior Championships Another great Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

Any Questions?

Contact Us

About Us

Our Club was founded in 1983 primarily as a marathon running club, however over the years we have introduced a juvenile section and cover a wide range of athletic disciplines.

Bray Runners Athletics Club
Bray Head Terrace, Vevay Rd, Oldcourt, Bray, Co. Wicklow 0872930904



Committee Members

 Richard Hourihan Chairperson

 Cyril J. Smith Club Hon. Treasurer

 Ashling Smith Honorary Secretary

 Audrey Whelan Child Welfare Officer

 Jackie O'Neill Social Secretary

 Emma Craxton Juvenile Representative

 Mary Hayde Kearns Club Captain

 Conor Maher Club Captain

 Dominic Horan Committee Member

 Elaine Casey Committee Member

 Ashling Smith Lead Club Covid Officer

 Gaye Enright Juvenile Club Covid Officer

Our Photos

Well done to all our athletes!